top of page
  • Writer's pictureMs. Ashley Kienitz

Activities with Technology in the Classroom

There are many ways that technology can be incorporated in the classroom. For this assignment, I created two artifacts from my peer's technology they created lessons with. My two peers used Visme and Explain Everything.


Visme is a website that creates infographics, presentations, and other visual content. For the assignment that my peer had us do, she had us create a infographic about Colorado Geography. We had to to pick three different geographical features in Colorado and in what ways humans use them. The artifact that I created is shown below.



Explain Everything is an online whiteboard where students can draw and create on it. Students are able to add images, write text, draw, create videos, add audio, and more. This tool is especially useful if the student shave tablets, to which they could use a stylus to draw with. This online technology is an easy way for students to write notes and also create presentations. My peer wanted us to create a small presentation about how a certain animal that we choose disperses seeds.

My presentation is shown below, as well as on the website link.


https://expl.ai/JSVYQVQ


My Final Thoughts about these online tools:

  • What artifact do you feel most fits your teaching style and why? I think Visme is a very interactive way of creating visuals for presentations, so I would feel like I would use this more than Explain Everything. I just find it easier to work with and more understandable. However, I feel like I would use Explain Everything more if my students had tablets in their school. I feel like the cite would work much better that way, and I think the students would be able to have fun making slides and videos.

  • What artifact/tool most directly puts the power of learning in the hands of students, in your opinion? I think that even though Explain Everything is hard to use, I think that it has more tools that put the learning in the hands of the students. It is basically a blank canvas, where the students can create anything they want. This is good for the students to create anything they want.

  • What artifacts are you going to demonstrate via your e-portfolio? How do these represent your authentic teacher style and teaching identity? I am going to demonstrate these in my e-portfolio by creating visuals from both technologies that my grcoupmates. I created one from Visme about Colorado's rivers, mountains, and forests. I also created one from Explain Everything that is a slide about how Squirrels disperse seeds. I think these both show how the students would use these in the classroom. I think that the students would use more visuals and then explain their ideas more in an oral way. So, I use pictures and diagrams for my own artifacts.

In the end, I think the Explain Everything would be a better tool if used on the tablet. I also think Visme is very great for different presentations like Infographics. I think that they would both be useful in the classroom, and I will definitely use them in the future.


Citations

  • Create Interactive Online Presentations, infographics, animations & banners in HTML5 - Visme by Easy WebContent. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.visme.co/

  • Interactive Whiteboard with Real-Time Collaboration. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://explaineverything.com/

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page